Skip to content
 
Department of Literature and Language  

Faculty and Staff

Meet individuals who shape the UNC Asheville academic community.
headshot

Gwen McNeill Ashburn

Professor, Dean of Humanities

224 Phillips Hall, CPO # 1411
828.251.6505
gashburn@unca.edu

headshot

Kirk Boyle

Lecturer

236 Karpen Hall,CPO# 2130
828.250.3915
Office Hours: MW 11:30-12:30,
TR 1:45-2:45, & by appointment
kboyle@unca.edu 
http://www.kirkboyle.com

 

headshot

Peter Caulfield

Professor

218 Karpen Hall, CPO# 2130
828.251.6573
pcaulfield@unca.edu

 

headshot

Cynn Chadwick

Lecturer

216 Karpen Hall CPO# 2130
828.251.6579
cchadwic@unca.edu
 
 

headshot

Richard Chess

Roy Carroll Professor of Honors Arts and Sciences, Director of the Center for Jewish Studies

219 Karpen Hall  
828.251.6576
rchess@unca.edu
http://www.unca.edu/~rchess

 

headshot

Peg Downes


Professor Emeritus

headshot

Gary Ettari

Associate Professor

237 Karpen Hall CPO #2130
828.251.6598

headshot

J. Michael Gillum

Professor Emeritus

247 Karpen Hall CPO # 2130
828.251.6578

headshot

Brian Graves

Lecturer

214 Karpen Hall CPO # 2130
828.251.6410
bgraves@unca.edu
Office Hours: MW 10-11, TR 2-3
or by appointment
 

headshot

Evan Gurney

Assistant Professor

Karpen Hall 204
Telephone:
Office Hours: MWF 10-11; TR 1-2
email: egurney@unca.edu